Call us (613) 730-1204

About Us

The Canadian Post-M.D. Education Registry (CAPER) is the central repository for statistical information on postgraduate medical education in Canada. CAPER maintains individual-level data for all postgraduate medical residents and fellows. Data is gathered on an annual basis from all 17 Canadian Faculties of Medicine. CAPER records capture data throughout postgraduate medical training as well as ongoing practice location following post-M.D. training.

The Annual Census of Post-M.D. Trainees is CAPER’s flagship report. It gives a detailed statistical profile of post-M.D. trainees in Canada, including:

  • The numbers and types of physicians being trained in family medicine, surgical, laboratory and other medical specialties;
  • The socio-demographic characteristics of postgraduate trainees, such as age and sex distribution;
  • The distribution of post-M.D. trainees across provinces and Faculties of Medicine;
  • The numbers of international medical graduates (IMGs) and visa trainees studying in Canada;
  • The number of residents and fellows exiting post-M.D. training programs;
  • Ongoing practice location of postgraduate trainees following training.

CAPER publications and services are designed for statistical and research purposes. Data collection is carried out according to strict privacy policies and CAPER promotes best practices with its data sharing partners.

Established in 1986, CAPER is a partnership of professional medical organizations and federal/provincial/territorial governments. CAPER’s work is made possible through the financial support of its contributing members. We would like to acknowledge and thank our contributing partners for their support of the Canadian Post-M.D. Education Registry.

Appelez-nous (613) 730-1204

À notre sujet

RCEP, le Système informatisé sur les stagiaires post-M.D. en formation clinique est le répertoire central des renseignements statistiques sur la formation médicale postdoctorale au Canada. Il maintient des données, à l’échelle individuelle, sur tous les résidents et boursiers qui font des études médicales postdoctorales. Ces données sont recueillies annuellement auprès des 17 facultés de médecine canadiennes. CAPER recueille des données tout au long de la formation postdoctorale, ainsi que sur le lieu d’exercice une fois que le stagiaire a achevé sa formation.

Rapport vedette de RCEP, le Recensement annuel des stagiaires post M.D. en formation clinique trace le profil statistique des stagiaires post-M.D. au Canada et indique notamment :

  • le nombre et le type de médecins qui suivent une formation en médecine de famille, en chirurgie, en médecine de laboratoire et dans d’autres domaines de spécialisation médicale;
  • les caractéristiques sociodémographiques des stagiaires postdoctoraux, telles que leur répartition selon l’âge et le sexe;
  • leur répartition selon les provinces et les facultés de médecine;
  • le nombre de diplômés internationaux en médecine (DIM) et de stagiaires étrangers qui étudient au Canada;
  • le nombre de résidents et de boursiers qui terminent des programmes de formation post-M.D.; et
  • le lieu d’exercice des stagiaires postdoctoraux ayant achevé leur formation.

Les publications et les services de CAPER sont conçus pour servir à des fins statistiques et de recherche. La collecte de données respecte des La Protection des Renseignements Personnels. De plus, CAPER promeut des pratiques exemplaires en ce qui a trait au partage des données avec ses partenaires.

Créé en 1986, CAPER est le résultat d’un partenariat entre plusieurs organismes médicaux professionnels et les gouvernements provinciaux, territoriaux et fédéral. Son fonctionnement est possible grâce au soutien financier de ses membres contributeurs. Nous tenons à remercier nos partenaires contributeurs de leur soutien du Système informatisé sur les stagiaires post-M.D. en formation clinique.