Call us (613) 730-1204

International Medical Graduates

Canada is witnessing a growing number of International Medical Graduates (IMGs) and continued effort to assess, train and recognise foreign credentials leading to licensed practice. In 2004, the Canadian Task Force on the Licensure of International Medical Graduates made six recommendations to address IMG barriers to licensure and practice. The National IMG Database was subsequently formed in 2005 based on 2 recommendations stipulating the need to develop a national research agenda, and the capacity to track and recruit IMGs. 

This pan-Canadian database provides a complete picture of internationally trained physicians and their unique contribution to the Canadian physician workforce, by tracking IMGs through the various milestone events on the path to licensure.

Data is received on an annual basis from the Medical Council of Canada, the 17 Canadian faculties of Medicine, and the Federation of Medical Regulatory Authorities of Canada. Data on IMGs in practice is purchased from Scott’s Business lists.

 Caper Licensure Process Diagram

The historical database 2005-2012 was funded by the Government of Canada’s Foreign Credential Recognition Program.

Appelez-nous (613) 730-1204

Diplômés internationaux en médecine

Le nombre de diplômés internationaux en médecine est en pleine croissance au Canada. Des mesures continues sont prises pour évaluer, former et reconnaître les titres étrangers menant à la pratique autorisée. En 2004, le Groupe de travail canadien sur le Permis d’exercice des diplômés internationaux en médecine a formulé six recommandations portant sur les barrières qui empêchent les DIM d'accéder au permis d'exercice et à la pratique. En 2005, on a mis sur pied la Base de données nationale sur les DIM selon deux des recommandations précisant le besoin d'élaborer un programme national de recherche et de développer notre capacité de suivre et de recruter des DIM.

Cette base de données pancanadienne informe sur les médecins formés à l'international et de leur contribution unique à la main-d'œuvre canadienne de médecins en suivant les DIM alors qu'ils franchissent les étapes clés menant au permis d'exercice et à l’exercice médicale.

Les données sont recueillies chaque année auprès du Conseil médical du Canada et des 17 facultés de médecine canadiennes. Nous nous procurons les données sur les DIM praticiens auprès de Scott’s Directories.

Caper Licensure Process Diagram